Monday night I whipped into the house to complete the Spaghetti Squash Lo Mein Recipe I had found.  Thankfully, I had cooked the squash 2 nights prior.  It has been a goal of mine to replace rice with quinoa or cauliflower and pasta with spaghetti squash at least once a week.  That has been hit or miss at best… :)

This recipe came from: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/06/05/spaghetti-squash-lo-mein/

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup red pepper, sliced thin (I used one whole pepper)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 (8oz) package sliced mushrooms (I used 10 whole mushrooms from my bulk section)
  • 1-2 carrots, sliced into coins or matchsticks
  • 2 cups broccoli florets (1 crown of broccoli)
  • optional: shelled edamame for extra protein (I skipped this)
  • vegetable oil for sautéing (or broth for a fat-free option)
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp ground ginger (I used powder)
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 scallions, sliced thin (I left my ends in)
  • 1 large spaghetti squash or 16oz pasta
  • optional: 1 package bean sprouts (I skipped this)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 3 tbsp white vinegar or apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp hoisin sauce or vegan Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce (or gluten-free alternative)

Directions:

  • Cook the squash the night before to save yourself a lot of time.
  • Heat oil or broth in a skillet (I got to use my wok!  Hooray!).  Add in pepper, onion, mushrooms, carrots and broccoli.  (Katie suggests steaming broccoli in the microwave, but I like mine cooked in a pan and crunchy.)
  • wok
  • Add spices, garlic, scallions, salt, sprouts.  Cook until broccoli is soft.  (Soft broccoli is “ew” – if you ask me…)
  • Combine broth, vinegar, hoisin and soy sauce in a separate bowl.  (Okay… Here is where things went wrong with this recipe.  The vinegar complete overtakes the flavor and you end up with a vinegar lo mein.  EW, again.  I suggest the following: 1 tsp sesame oil, 1/4 cup broth, 1/2 tsp red pepper, 2-3 tbsp soy sauce.  You can always add extra soy sauce.  Go ahead and leave the hoisin too.)
  • Since my spaghetti squash was cold, I added to the wok and allowed it to heat through.  Then, I poured the sauce over and cooked a bit longer.

HOLD THE VINEGAR!!!  But it does make a lovely (and healthy) dish.

lo mein

 

Last night we watched Brake.  That movie has a great twist ending, and then, another twist!  I highly recommend.

We ate at Soleil, next to The Oasis.  The sunset was hazy, but it was a beautiful view.  I had Prawns (shrimp) with sweet corn risotto (instead of bacon infused grits – damn you bacon) and we shared some macaroni and cheese.  The calamari appetizer was phenomenal!  The shrimp was okay and the risotto was lame as far as flavor was concerned.  At least there was wine.  Thank the gods for a good vino.

http://www.soleilaustin.com/

And for the love of Lo Mein – Hold the Vinegar!